Toothed Whales

Below you will find a list containing all/most of the toothed whale species along with links to individual pages that provide additional information on each of the many different toothed whales; but first we’ll start this article with a brief overview of the toothed whale species.

Toothed whales make up one of two suborders within the cetacean species.

In addition to whales the toothed whale suborder also consists of all species of dolphin and porpoise.

As the name suggests toothed whale are born with teeth and are generally considered the hunters of the cetacean family as species such as the killer whale and sperm whale are known to be aggressive hunters and many of the species are known to hunt in cooperative groups or teams to isolate and capture their prey.

For the most part toothed whales are smaller than their baleen whale counterparts with the largest of the toothed whale family, the sperm whale, growing to lengths of up to 67 ft. and weighing over 45 tons.

Note: Although the sperm whale can grow up to 67 ft. long most sperm whales measure in at between 49 – 60 ft. long.

In comparison the second largest toothed whale is Baird’s beaked whale which can grow to lengths of just over 40 ft.

Most other toothed whales are considerably smaller in stature and weight.

Species such as the killer whale, pilot whale and melon headed whale also belong to the toothed whale famKiller Whale Hunting Seal Illustrationily, however these marine mammals are actually part of the dolphin family.

The variety of foods these marine animals consume can vary greatly from one species to the next.
Various species of toothed whale are known to eat everything from numerous species of fish, squid, octopus and crustaceans to marine animals such as sharks, penguins, seals and sea lions, as well as other cetaceans such as whales, dolphins and porpoises (primarily hunted by killer whales).

In addition to possessing teeth the toothed whale suborder also possesses echolocation abilities that allow them to detect the size, direction, density and movement of their prey as well as surrounding objects in their environment.

The use of echolocation allows these marine mammals to search for food, avoid attacks from predators and navigate the ocean, even in pitch black environments and serves as an essential part of their survival.

List of Toothed Whales

Andrew’s beaked whale (Mesoplodon bowdoini)
Arnoux’s beaked whale (Berardius arnuxii)
Baird’s beaked whale (Berardius bairdii)
Blainville’s Beaked whale (Mesoplodon densirostris)
Cuvier’s beaked whale (Ziphius cavirostris)
Gervais’ beaked whale (Mesoplodon europaeus)
Ginkgo toothed beaked whale (Mesoplodon ginkgodens)
Gray’s beaked whale (Mesoplodon grayi)
Hector’s beaked whale (Mesoplodon hectori)
Hubb’s Beaked whale (Mesoplodon carlhubbsi)
Longman’s beaked whale (Indopacetus pacificus)
Perrin’s beaked whale (Mesoplodon perrini)
Pygmy beaked whale (Mesoplodon peruvianus)
Shepherd’s beaked whale (Tasmacetus shepherdi)
Sowerby’s beaked whale (Mesoplodon bidens)
Stejneger’s beaked whale (Mesoplodon stejnegeri)
True’s beaked whale (Mesoplodon mirus)

Beluga whale (Delphinapterus leucas)

Northern bottlenose whale (Hyperoodon ampullatus)
Southern bottlenose whale (Hyperoodon planifrons)

Narwhal whale (Monodon monoceros)

Spade-toothed whale (Mesoplodon traversii)
Strap-toothed whale (Mesoplodon layardii)

Sperm whale (Physeter macrocephalus)
Dwarf sperm whale (Kogia sima)
Pygmy sperm whale (Kogia breviceps)


White-beaked dolphin (Lagenorhynchus albirostris)
Long-beaked common dolphin (Delphinus capensis)
Short-beaked common dolphin (Delphinus delphis)
Arabian common dolphin (Delphinus tropicalis)

Burrunan dolphin (Tursiops australis)
Common bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops truncatus)
Indian ocean/indo-pacific bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops aduncus)

Chilean dolphin (Cephalorhynchus eutropia)

Chinese white dolphin - (Sousa chinensis)

Clymene’s dolphin (Stenella clymene)

Commerson’s dolphin (Cephalorhynchus commersonii)

Costero dolphin (Sotalia guianensis)

Dusky dolphin (Lagenorhynchus obscurus)

La Plata dolphin (Franciscana dolphin) - (Pontoporia blainvillei)

Fraser’s dolphin (Lagenodelphis hosei)

Heaviside’s dolphin (Cephalorhynchus heavisidii)

Hector’s dolphin (Cephalorhynchus hectori)

Hourglass dolphin (Lagenorhynchus cruciger)

Atlantic Humpback dolphin (Sousa teuszi)
Indian Humpback dolphin (Sousa plumbea)
Pacific Humpback dolphin (Sousa chinensis)

Irrawaddy dolphin (Orcaella brevirostris)

Killer whale – (Orcinus orca)
False killer whale (Pseudorca crassidens)
Pygmy killer whale (Feresa attenuata)

Melon-headed whale (Peponocephala electra)

Peale’s dolphin (Lagenorhynchus australis)

Northern right whale dolphin (Lissodelphis borealis)
Southern right whale dolphin (Lissodelphis peronii)

Rough-toothed dolphin (Steno bredanensis)

Spinner dolphin (Stenella longirostris)

Atlantic spotted dolphin (Stenella frontalis)
Pantropical spotted dolphin (Stenella attenuata)

Long-finned pilot whale (Globicephala melas)
Short-finned pilot whale (Globicephala macrorhynchus)

Risso’s dolphin (Grampus griseus)

Amazon river dolphin (Boto) – (Inia geoffrensis)
Chinese river dolphin (Baiji) – (Lipotes vexillifer)
Ganges river dolphin (Platanista gangetica gangetica)
Indus river dolphin (Platanista gangetica minor)

Australian snubfin dolphin (Orcaella heinsohni)

Striped dolphin (Stenella coeruleoalba)

Tucuxi dolphin (Sotalia fluviatilis)

Atlantic white-sided dolphin (Lagenorhynchus acutus)
Pacific white-sided dolphin (Lagenorhynchus obliquidens)


Burmeister’s porpoise (Phocoena spinipinnis)

Dall’s porpoise (Phocoenoides dalli)

Finless porpoise (Neophocaena phocaenoides)

Harbor porpoise (Phocoena phocoena)

Spectacled porpoise (Phocoena dioptrica)

Vaquita (Phocoena sinus)